Google warns on deleting personal Google+ accounts

Google announced the decision to take down the accounts of Google+ consumers in April 2019 due to lack of users and challenges of maintainance. And I will show you how to back up Google plus account files.

A mail was sent to it’s consumers on 1st February 2019. Thanking its members for being part of the Google+ and provide next steps, including how to download your photos and other content.

On April 2nd, Google+ account and any Google+ pages created by any user will be shut down and Google will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in any user Album Archive and Google+ pages will also be deleted.

How to retrieve your data

The good news is that, there’s much time to back up your photos and videos in Google photos so they won’t be deleted or better still download them on your phones. After back up, you also can delete your Google+ accounts. Google won’t delete your backed up files in Google photos.

Google stated in the mail that the process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months, and content may remain through this time. For example, users may still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.

As early as February 4th, creation of new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events will stop.

Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community. If a user sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button.

ALSO READ  Effects Of Constant Wearing Of Earphones & Headsets.

How about Google+ sign in buttons

Google+ users will still be able to sign in with their Google Account wherever they see Google Sign-in buttons. If you’ve used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019. 

How about G Suite users

If you’re a G Suite customer, Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active. Contact your G Suite administrator for more details. You can also expect a new look and new features soon. For developers using Google+ APIs or Google+ Sign-in, this will impact you too.

At the end of the mail, it wrote, “From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place. We are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication. “

Leave a Reply

WhatsApp WhatsApp us
%d bloggers like this: